My Job – To Myself

 

I just played 10 Dota games consecutively in an attempt to win once. Guess what? I am cursed. 8 out of 10 games I was in, my teammates sucked, and enemies were like pros. Enemies dominated the game and killed us like slicing bread. No no no, it’s not that I am bad. Of the games I have lost, at least 6 of them I got the highest score of my whole team, and I’m not even good! But my team sucks that’s for sure.

I kept playing and playing just to see if the pattern continues. I trusted probability and believed I was unlucky to be with a bad team, but at least I have a 50/50 chance. It was almost funny because every freaking game was the same. The tide of all these games were so uneven that I was almost convinced God, if it exists, just wanted to fuck me up.

There were only two wins. One was due to a lucky switch, and the other – the last game, was due to one of the enemies being dropped in the middle (bad connection) which resulted in a 5v4 situation. There were no real wins.

Therefore, I am fed up with this game. Dota is worse than CoH in that it is less strategic and requires less thinking. Many times I saw teammates / enemies fighting in unfavorable circumstances and the whole game could have been changed if a little more strategic thoughts were involved. You are just lucky if you have a whole team of players knowing what they are doing, otherwise you are just fucked.

This being said, I did learn something valuable from Dota.

In the game, there were mainly two modes: All-Pick and All-Random. In All-Pick you get to choose your own character, while in All-Random you are given a random character. Each character has its unique strengths and weaknesses; some are imbalanced to be either over-powered or under-powered.

With my pattern-seeking ability, I see that LIFE is All-Random. You don’t get to pick who you want to use. You are given a character and you have to play it. Get it?

Life is totally imbalanced, totally – much more so than Dota. But let’s toss balance aside, and focus on the key: controlling your character and driving it to success.

Maybe, maybe it doesn’t matter what your character is. Some characters are innately easy, and some much harder to use. Maybe the only thing that matters is the skill. Maybe the only things that will be judged is the skill – the skill to drive your character to success.

So how about I think about it this way? I was randomized to use me – an uncommon character that nobody picks and very hard to use, one that has loads of dysfunctional problems, but one which has great potential. It is within my power to make this character work and drive it to success.

Instead of complaining, I should take it as an opportunity. Success is not a necessity but a dependent variable based on how hard I try. It is my responsibility to use me well and I should be rewarded for doing so.

The scoreboard may have shown I lost 8 games. Did I really lose? I did by best; I was a fighter and did most of what I could do in adverse situations. Who says you have to win to be a real winner? And who knows if those “winners” are in fact, losers in disguise?

To my new job.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

